WIPpet Wednesday: Mother and George

WIPpetWedWhat’s WIPpet Wednesday?
Wednesday is for the day of the week I (and others) share a WIPpet.  The word WIPpet is the joining of the word snippet with the acronym WIP, which stands for Work In Progress.  Using the date to conjure up a math formula, WIPpeteers (the group of people that share WIPpets) figure out how much to share.

My WIPpet Math
The date (1/8/14)  reveals we’ll got to page 7 (day – month | 8 – 1) and read 5 paragraphs (1+4).

What’s My WIPpet?
We’re still with code name: GRANDMA.  This is a modern day MG fantasy.  Today we spend time with “current day” Lizzie.

This Week’s WIPpet
Though, I’m not sure where to start, I guess we might as well start in the car. It was Saturday morning and like any Saturday morning I was headed to Grandma’s. Only it really wasn’t like any Saturday.

Sure I was sitting in the car, watching the woods as I always did. I even spotted a few wild turkeys. Sure, my bag was packed with clothes and the book I needed to return to Grandma. These things were all the normal bits.

“Lizzie,” called my mom with a super sweet voice. Normally, my mom would be sleeping in. Normally she wouldn’t have been driving me. It would have been my dad.

Her tone told me that there was about to be another change taking place and she was trying not to make me grumpier. She didn’t have time to deal with me getting grumpier. She was in a hurry.

“We’re almost there and I was wondering… Could you and George walk up the drive from the road?” she asked.

Want to give it a go or read the WIPpeteers’ works?
KL Schwengel runs the show.
Find the linkie on her page to read the WIPpets or join in.

Categories: WIPpet Wednesday | Tags: , , , , , | 21 Comments

Post navigation

21 thoughts on “WIPpet Wednesday: Mother and George

  1. Great excerpt. I like the way Lizzie’s mum is trying hard not to make her grumpy. Why exactly is Lizzie disgruntled anyway? I’m intrigued.

    • Lizzie eventually says what the problem is… Though, not sure where it falls (next excerpt or not). But, she’s grumpy for all this chapter. Poor, girl.

  2. Very intriguing, where is Mum going on this non-sleep-in morning? And how long is the driveway and what could possibly happen in the soon to be grumpily walk up it. Nice WIPpet.

  3. kathils

    Ah, something is going on here. Nice little hints being dropped. And wanting her to walk up from the road speaks volumes. Dad not being involved…methinks something is foul in the state of Denmark.

  4. Heh. Lizzie has mom pegged. Will she be kind enough to let mom get away without using up time being grumpy, I wonder.

    How old is Lizzie in this excerpt?

    • At this time she’s 11 and she will remain thus from now on. I think in our preteens is when we start to be able to read our parents, to our advantage. Sure as little kids we’d read reactions, but not until then do we see the string pulling. And that’s why they get harder to raise!

  5. Kate Frost

    There’s so much not being said in this extract and that’s intriguing. Lots of hints about how different this particular morning is are well done and leaves me with an uneasy feeling about what’s going on. Good stuff.

    • I decided to go with it being un-normal from the start, because the whole “It was a normal day, but then…” thing just doesn’t suit me. Glad you like.

  6. Love the voice of your excerpt! I was wondering what MG fantasy meant but now I think it must be middle grade? Anyhow, excellent work!

    • Thank you. I really worked hard to keep the voice in this.

      Yes, MG is middle grade. This is my first time writing for this age range/kind of an experiment. I’ve just been reading lots of MG lately as that’s where my kids are. Though, son is moving onto YA.

  7. I have a very distinct song running through my head after reading the opening part of this. That’s the side note though. I am very curious as to what’s going on with Lizzie’s mom. It seems like she is running away and hightailing it out of there as quick as she can.

  8. I sense a lot of broken things here, broken homes, harts… people. Grim.

Leave a Reply

