WIPpet Wednesday: Brave

WIPpetWedA couple of things before I start.

#1- I will be skipping next week’s WIPpet Wednesday.  While I could post something, I would not be able to return the favor/visit people.  I hate doing that!  I rather just skip a week than do that.  I’ll be back to WIPpeting Jan 1st.

#2- I made myself a new WIPpet icon.  Feel free to steal, mangle, or whatever to it.

What’s WIPpet Wednesday?
Wednesday is for the day of the week I (and others) share a WIPpet.  The word WIPpet is the joining of the word snippet with the acronym WIP, which stands for Work In Progress.  Using the date to conjure up a math formula, WIPpeteers (the group of people that share WIPpets) figure out how much to share.

My WIPpet Math
The date (12/18/13)  gets a total math treatment.  12 becomes 1+2 and we get 3 paragraphs this week.  As from where… That’s where it gets tricky.  18 and 13 become (1+8) – (1+3) or 9 – 4.  That means we’re onto page 5!

What’s My WIPpet?
We’re still with code name: GRANDMA.  This is a MG fantasy that falls into magical realism, I guess?  My main character, Lizzie who is in kindergarten/age 5 or 6 in this flashback, is about to learn the lesson that makes her the 11-year-old she is during the main chunk of her story.

This Week’s WIPpet
I heard the sound of glass moving against glass. I opened my eyes to see Grandma putting the snake in a cookie jar shaped like Grandpa’s favorite cartoon character, Porky Pig. Once she slid the lid back in place, she came to me. She crouched again and looked me straight in the eyes.

“It is okay to be scared,” she told me once again. “But, when you’re scared, you need to be brave.”

With the snake safely away from sight and contained, I found it easier to talk. “But, isn’t being brave mean not being scared?”

Want to give it a go or read the WIPpeteers’ works?
KL Schwengel runs the show.
Find the linkie on her page to read the WIPpets or join in.

Categories: WIPpet Wednesday | Tags: , , , , | 21 Comments

Post navigation

21 thoughts on “WIPpet Wednesday: Brave

  1. kathils

    A very tough thing to be brave through your fear and not paralyzed by it. And for the record, I used to play with snakes as a child. Now . . . let’s just say, as long as they don’t surprise me, I’m fine with them. They show up out of the blue and scare the bejingies out of me and it’s all over. 😉

    I suspect there will be a decided lack of posting next Wednesday. Have a great Holiday!

    • After the huge over reaction Lizzie had (running away, upstairs, locking herself in a room, and hiding under a desk), Grandma thought she should start instilling this virtue/lesson in Lizzie.

      I’ve always been afraid of snakes. Though, I try to control that fear. Which made it interesting the time my dog started pooping on a snake during a dog walk!

      I thought there might be lack of posting, but since I knew it was my plan, I decided to just let people know.

  2. Eww and urgh – snakes! Not mad keen on them. Good excerpt though. I like the idea of being scared but being brave and Lizzie wondering about the definition of brave. Hope you have a lovely Christmas. Not sure I’ll make the next two WIPpet Wednesdays either as next week’s Christmas Day and the following is New Year’s Day. Phew! Where does the time go lol.

    • Snakes aren’t my favorites either, though it isn’t the worst thing out there. Thanks,this whole chapter is about her “defining moment” and the brave vs. afraid thing is a big part of it.

      Hope you have a great Christmas! I can understand that. While I won’t have time between Christmas and New Year’s, I’ll be free after New Year’s. Well, I’m always slow and late to reply to everyone, so… It will be no different than usual.

  3. Ah, nice! Really like the exchange in this snippet. And I really like the icon too! Think I will steal it on occasion. 🙂

    • Please do steal. 😉 Thank you for complimenting the exchange. I worked hard to avoid cheesy and forced sounding. (Don’t ask how many time I rewrote this bit.)

  4. Oh, and have a great Christmas too!

  5. Yeah, it’s sounding more and more like there will be a serious lack of WIPpets next week. (I’m going to post mostly because I have found that skipping a week leads to skipping another week and then another and then… but I totally understand that most people won’t post or comment. We all do what works for us.)

    I love snakes. Maybe not so much the water snakes by my grandparents’ house, but garter snakes are sweet. Of course, it took me a long time to get to this point. And I still run the other way as soon as I see a centipede… :-\

    • I get what you are saying about the skipping a week. Honestly, for the same reason I considered posting anyways, but I’m easily swayed by potential guilt.

      I’m “okay” with snakes. I brace myself and deal with the situation. Petting a snake is a situation. I did consider getting a snake (and other reptiles) instead of a hamster, however, I could not find a place for the tank by an outlet. I like working on getting over my fears when I can. But, I don’t regret getting my Queenie at all. She’s an awesome hamster.

      • Oh… hamsters? Eek! I can’t get past how many times I’ve been bit by them (yet, I love mice… don’t ask me to make any sense of that). You’re a braver woman than I am, Gloria.

        • When I was in 3rd grade my female hamster bit off the pad of my finger. Like, 0 finger print left bit off… Yet here I am with one after all these years! Everything I read says smaller ones are the biters.

          Right now, I got the biggest one (Syrian). She has “tested” me (“this smells lettuce-y, is it lettuce?”) but never actually bitten down and caused pain. So the information I’ve seen is holding true.

          • Yeah, the testing doesn’t bother me much… It’s that bite like you describe above. Maybe I’ll test my nerves and see some bigger hamsters based on your advice.

            Of course… hamsters are cute… they get lots of love. Snakes need someone to love them too. 😀

          • Yes, yes. Snakes need love. And heaters. 😉 Outlets are a rare commodity in my built in 1920 house.

          • I get that… The house I grew up was listed as “standing when the town was incorporated in 1827”. Outlets? We don’t need no electricity! 😀

  6. Aww… Did a snake scare her? 😦 Good Granny for being brave enough to put the snake away. 🙂

    • All the hysterics up to now were over that snake. Lizzie over reacted. Thankfully, Grandma is made of awesome sauce.

      • I like snakes, but I’ve known people who were so afraid of them, they’d come close to heart attacks upon seeing them. The best the-snake-scared-me story ever came from a friend of mine who just passed. She was 97. Over seventy years ago, she set out a picnic blanket, set her baby down, and went back inside to get lunch. When she came out, she saw something slithering toward her baby. She grabbed a gun and shot it to pieces. It turned out to be a harmless grass snake, but she didn’t take the time to figure that out until she was cleaning it up. 😛

  7. Gloria,

    My daughter, now almost 9.5, loves snakes and will go out of her way to pet and visit them. The venomous varieties intrigue her; she’s definitely got a thing for predators.

    This is a potent little WIPpet. It didn’t sound at all forced to me. One tiny thing you’ll likely catch – in the last paragraph, did you mean for the ‘Isn’t’ to be a ‘Doesn’t’?

    Here’s a funny case of context: In your description, when you said she was in 5-6, I couldn’t parse it at first. The only time grade level matters here is when I file paperwork with the school district. Neither one of my unschoolers really know or care what grade they would be in – they’re too busy learning things that fascinate them (like the lives of venomous snakes…).

    It makes for awkward pauses when adults try the standard, “Oh, and what grade are YOU in?” conversation starter!

    I will be posting next week, because some WIPpeteer I love is having a birthday, and needs some Henry and Tisira in her life…and, like you, I always seem to be late or not fast enough to respond.

    I love your icon, and will definitely be snagging it for my posts!

    May your holidays be merry!

    • Great catch on the doesn’t! Fixed it in the manuscript.

      Ack! I started writing the sentence meaning to say she was in kindergarten, but I switched to age without thinking! She’s 5 to 6-years-old in the snippet. Will edit the post to reflect that. Though a 5th-6th grader would be 11.

      And even I get mixed up by ages and grades. I have kids in traditional school and I end up doing math to figure out what ages and grades go together. I think adults ask about grade because that gives them a knowledge reference. Like you might talk to a high school freshman about genetics and a third grader about dinosaurs. Also adults then pull on their grade level experiences to connect with kids, “Oh I loved my 3rd grade teacher. Do you like yours?”

      Have fun posting next week. Enjoy using the icon. Happy holidays!

Leave a Reply

