WIPpet Wednesday: Happy Legs

First, an apology.  I wasn’t able to visit everyone back last week.  My apologies. Sinus cold is winning.

WIPpetWhat’s WIPpet Wednesday?
Wednesday is for the day of the week I (and others) share a WIPpet.  The word WIPpet is the joining of the word snippet with the acronym WIP, which stands for Work In Progress.  Using the date to conjure up a math formula, WIPpeteers (the group of people that share WIPpets) figure out how much to share.

My WIPpet Math
The date (12/11/13)  gets split down the middle to give us 1+2+1= 4 (page #) and 1+1+3= 5 (paragraphs).

What’s My WIPpet?
We’re still with code name: GRANDMA.  This is a MG fantasy, possibly more magical realism?  My main character, Lizzie, is being found.

This Week’s WIPpet
I heard Grandma call out to me again, “Lizzie?” There was worry this time. Her panicked feet ran to the door I had locked. I listened to the knob refusing to turn.

“I’ll be right there, Lizzie,” said Grandma. Then, I heard the doorknob clunk and clack a bit more.

Finally, the door opened.

Being under the desk, all I saw were her legs. Her pale blue pants were muddy up past her ankles, nearly half way up to her shins. Her shoes were caked in mud that was falling onto the carpet around her and had left prints out in the hall.

I had never been happier to see her legs

Want to give it a go or read the WIPpeteers’ works?
KL Schwengel runs the show.
Find the linkie on her page to read the WIPpets or join in.

Categories: WIPpet Wednesday | Tags: , , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “WIPpet Wednesday: Happy Legs

  1. And what legs to see… Still, I can understand our narrator.

    And totally understand about the cold. Hope you’re feeling better.

    • I don’t know why, but pale blue pants = grandma to me. Maybe mine owned a pair when I was younger.

      Thanks for understanding. I hate the fact I am napping so much. Can’t wait to be normal.

      • At least they aren’t pale green pants with nobody inside them….

        (Sorry, couldn’t resist the Dr.Seuss moment.)

  2. lol so glad she found her!

  3. kathils

    Sinus cold = blech. Hope you’re on the mend. I hate trying to think when my head is the least bit out of the game.

    Great WIPpet and how happy she is just to see legs. Also, how much we can tell from a pair of legs.

    • I’ve had this evil cold two weeks! It is one of those that refuses to go away. It is ruining my sleep and I need that for writing.

      Glad you like. I almost only put 5 sentences, but I went with paragraphs for a dose of happy after all the crying from the past two pieces.

  4. Aww!!! I love it. 🙂 It says a lot about Grandma that she cared so much more for her grandchild than for her home that she ran in covered in mud. mindless of the mess. 🙂

Leave a Reply

