WIPpet Wednesdays: Does windows

WIPpetWhat’s WIPpet Wednesday?
Wednesday is for the day of the week I (and others) share a WIPpet.  The word WIPpet is the joining of the word snippet with the acronym WIP, which stands for Work In Progress.  Using the date to conjure up a math formula, WIPpeteers (the group of people that share WIPpets) figure out how much to share.

My WIPpet Math
Will I run out of pages if I add page 71 (where we left off) t o 25?  Nope.  There’s page 96 and we’ll take a September’s 9 worth of lines from that.

What’s My WIPpet?
I’m still sharing from a YA Fantasy code named FLAMES.  Well, things seemed to be taking a turn for the good in last week’s snippet.  By this point, Mason is now getting along with Gabriel.  However, she still isn’t getting along with his brother Vincent.  And they just had a fight and Mason was trying to decide how to let Lasrina know where she was going when…

This Week’s WIPpet
It wasn’t long until I recognized the sound of people trying to whisper and shout all at once. The first words I made out clearly were “Hurry up!”

Beyond a shadow of a doubt, the owner of the voice was Vincent.

A chill ran through my body as I pictured him bringing someone to drive me from the home by force. I didn’t want to hurt someone else today. I didn’t want to fight anymore.

He made my choice for me. I abandoned the idea of a letter and grabbed the packed suitcase. With an eye on the door, I closed the wardrobe and headed for the windows.

Want to give it a go or read other people’s work?
KL Schwengel runs the show.
Find the linkie on her page to read other people’s work or join in.

Categories: WIPpet Wednesday | Tags: , , , | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “WIPpet Wednesdays: Does windows

  1. Who’s already been hurt? (I missed last week’s WIPpets so we might have found that out.) Really got the sense of her fear at Vincent’s voice in this extract.

    • I skipped over who she hurt. (Last week was her and Gabriel starting to make nice.) But, I won’t withhold who she threw across her bedroom and threw into the wall (only to slide down the wall and collide once more with the floor).

      It was Vincent.

  2. Another intense scene. Nice job leaving us on a cliffhanger. 😉

  3. Oh dear. It doesn’t look like things are going to keep getting better. At least, not for a while. 🙂

  4. Nice cliffhanger!

  5. Ack! Cliffhanger! I can’t really complain though, since I’m just as bad with the cliffhangers sometimes!

  6. kathils

    Trying to whisper and shout at the same time. I’ve attempted that. It’s not easy. 🙂 Nice to leave us dangling here.

    • My kids try to whisper-shout all the time… They generally fail at it. 😉 I can’t claim to be much better at it myself.

      Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

