WIPpet Wednesday: The Kitchen

WIPpetWhat’s WIPpet Wednesday?
Wednesday is for the day of the week I (and others) share a WIPpet.  The word WIPpet is the joining of the word snippet with the acronym WIP, which stands for Work In Progress.  Using the date to conjure up a math formula, WIPpeteers (the group of people that share WIPpets) figure out how much to share.

My WIPpet Math
September is the 9th month, so 9 lines.  I left off on page 38, so we’ll add today’s day, 4, to that and we’ll skip to page 42.

What’s My WIPpet?
I’m still sharing from a YA Fantasy code named FLAMES.  This week, Mason (narrator) drags her snotty charge (Gabriel) in search of the maid (Lasrina).

This Week’s WIPpet
“Are we going to the kitchens? I don’t belong in the kitchen,” said Gabriel.

Now that he mentioned it, that was right. This was the way to the kitchen. And as we neared it the smells of food mingled with the sounds of people. Only it sounded less like work being done and more like arguing.

As I pushed the door open, I saw Lasrina instantly. Her back was to me, watching a lady in an apron.

I only glanced as the lady gave a mighty push at something and said, “Out!”

Want to give it a go or read other people’s work?
KL Schwengel runs the show.
Find the linkie on her page to read other people’s work or join in.

Categories: WIPpet Wednesday | Tags: , , , | 16 Comments

Post navigation

16 thoughts on “WIPpet Wednesday: The Kitchen

  1. Glad you’re back! 😀 And thanks for getting me into to WIP. It’s been tons of fun!

    • It is soooo good to be back. WIPpet is quite fun and it has such a wonderful community, too! And it can be so revealing. Doing this has brought to my attention how bare bones I write my initial drafts. I worry about their reactions and words more than building a scene (that comes in the next draft and beyond).

  2. kathils

    I swear I’m having deja vue day. Either that, or I read this before coffee because I thought I read and commented and, and, and . . . NO, it is not age related, thank you very much. 😉 I love that first line. Sounds so haughty. “I dont’ belong in the kitchen.” Hee, hee.

    • I usually blame pre-coffee-ness for most things (even post coffee… Sometimes it doesn’t kick in right). 😉

      He’s totally haughty and way too snobby for his age. I’m thankful he’s getting a bit more grounded in the portion I’m currently writing.

  3. Hmm… what was she pushing? A fight in the kitchen is never good news. Too many knives around. And I wonder if Gabriel’s comment stems more form a gender-role issue he has or is due to a direct command from someone like the apron lady.

    • Oh, I would tell you what she is pushing, but it is a major plot point. Let’s just say, Mason gets distracted and reveals a little bit of her true self in the process of dealing with it. And this incident causes a chain of events that leads to next week’s snippet.

      Gabriel’s reaction is pure “little master”/”that’s a place for servants only” mentality. He is in full snot mode when he says that.

  4. Obviously this isn’t a historical fantasy novel, since for a good portion of history men were the ones who cooked the “good stuff” and would rarely if ever have left it to a woman, no matter how big her apron was. 😉

    Sounds like there is some major clean up to be dealt with later… and not just involving the food.

    • It is a world of my own creation. Though, I need to bring that out more in later drafts.

      Oh, this is when things start getting messy, for sure.

  5. Welcome back!

    I haven’t been at this long enough to have the background to comment much on your snippet, but it reads well. 🙂

    • Thank you very much. 🙂

      I tend to be very random in my snippets. In WIPpet math they make sense, but subject matter jumps around without reason. I just try to share something that says something about the characters, their relationships, their personality, and/or a bit of the world.

  6. I like the randomness of your WIPpet snippets – a neat little peak into what you’re working on. I’m intrigued to know what she’s pushing.

    • Thank you. 🙂 I sometimes feel bad there is no continuity or “purpose” behind what I share.

      Wish, I could say who she is pushing. Only can say, she shouldn’t have done that.

  7. I, too, am intrigued to know who/what she pushed. And Gabriel certainly does sound like a snotty brat. Great snippet.

    • Everyone’s curiosity tempts me so much to reveal it! But, I probably won’t. (Because I’m evil! 😉 )

      Thanks for saying it was great and for stopping by! 🙂

  8. I’d probably want to shove Gabriel into the flames lol I hope Mason has more patience than I do.

Leave a Reply

