Writing Music: Wolf

This song teaches us there are things you should never compare a lady to.

This is a translation of the opening lyrics (Source)
Emphasis added by me

I feel the sensation; I feel it at once.
I’ll take you in one mouthful like cheese.
I take in [your] scent, scrutinize [your] color
I’ll eat you up with more refine than [drinking] wine.
Ah, but the strength in my toenail weakens, so my appetite yeah is gone.

While we can attribute many things to cultural differences, I feel safe in saying the following: NO GIRL WANTS TO BE COMPARED TO CHEESE!  Not Korean girls.  Not French girls.  Not even the main character of the Cheese Shop Mysteries.

SEXY TIMES FAIL!

Ever watch A KNIGHT’S TALE?  (If you haven’t, please consider doing so, because it is a great movie.)  If you have, you know this is a lot like that scene.  He compared her to his horse’s flanks!  Same deal as cheese!  Good intentions don’t make a comparison sexy.  Really, the songwriter(s) should have kept it all wine related.  That line should have been about licking her up. (Oh, my!) But. Not. Cheese.

P.S.- Bringing up your toenail is also not sexy.

Song: Wolf
Group: EXO-K

I didn’t like this song at first, but I kept getting the howling part stuck in my head.  And the only way to get it out was to listen to the song.  It was like a fungus.

What are some other things you have seen girls/woman/ladies compared
to that should have never happened?
What’s the last song that fungus-ed on you?

Categories: Writing Music | Tags: , , , , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Writing Music: Wolf

  1. Jae got me into Boys Over Flowers, and at first although I loved the drama, I hated the music, but eventually it grew on me. Same as with you – the songs would be stuck in my head until finally I went out of my way to listen to them. Now I like them. So strange!

    Oh, and I definitely agree – I would not want to be compared to cheese. It is not the most attractive of foods, that’s for sure (even if it is delicious! 😉 )

    • There’s a professor in Seoul, Korea trying to prove K-Pop is addictive and good for you. http://youtu.be/SvxEgj-eUIs?t=10m33s I’m inclined to agree! 🙂

      I think there are few foods one would like to be compared to, as I think about it. Broccoli? No. Salmon? Nuh-uh. Mashed potatoes? Erm, nope. Definitely a bad area of comparison.

  2. I like a bunch of K-pop (as well as J-pop), but except for the howling (that’s impressive howling too!), this song is kind of…. well, I can’t say scary. I’m not sure wat I think of the rest of the song yet. Except I really want light blue-green hair now.

    • The majority of what I listen to is K-Pop and J-Pop. And they are great to write to!

      I love how EXO tries to look tough and scary (bringing out their “claws”), but it doesn’t work. Honestly, I’m not thrilled that I like this song. I hated it when it came out. Fungus!!!

      If anything, K-Pop will awaken your inner fashionista. 😉 I bought a pair of earrings, because I saw them in a video and loved them.

      • I agree about the fashionista part. J-pop does that to me.

        And you’re right… the song itself sucks. But the howls are amazing.

  3. BTW, the “dramatic version” of the song is kind of cool… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nM0gJ8_cdOw

Leave a Reply

