Summer Reading #4

books4

Finished this week.

books5

Currently in progress.

Pooka
GUARDIANS OF GA’HOOLE #2: THE JOURNEY (finished)
GUARDIANS OF GA’HOOLE #3: THE RESCUE (started)

I called it.  She finished the book Friday afternoon (in the middle of a reading session) and immediately started the next book (because there was still reading time).  I did try to get her to take a GUARDIANS OF GA’HOOLE break.  She wouldn’t have none of it.  Anyways, here’s her blog post of THE JOURNEY.

Monster
THE VOYAGE OF THE DAWN TREADER (finished)
THE SILVER CHAIR (started)

Called this one too.  But, unlike his sister, he finished his “book” on Friday and started the new one on Saturday.  He’s super excited to be nearing the end of the series.  He can’t wait to reach THE LAST BATTLE (the last book).  I wonder what he’ll pick next to read.  Well, that’s a few weeks off still.  Why not read his blog post on THE VOYAGE OF THE DAWN TREADER.

Me
MIDNIGHT BAYOU (finished)
FRANKENSTEIN (started)
ONE DEAD COOKIE (started)

I finished my three Currently Reading picks and made three new ones.  Then, I pouted at my husband that two books I wanted to read were coming out and he ordered them from Amazon for me.  So that Goodreads info on the side… Not accurate.  Anyways, I hope to finish both books (ONE DEAD COOKIE and DYEING WISHES) this week and return to FRANKENSTEIN.  What?  No way was I going to wait to read the new awesome!  About FRANKENSTEIN, it is an unabridged, unedited version.  My husband bought this when he bought himself DR. JEKYLL AND MR. HYDE.  And since I am on this “want to read classics” kick with this “adult” version, I was able to discover my motives.  I want to taste the characters and see the plot.  How that is delivered to me, I don’t mind.  I’m not reading it to study it in any manner.  So, I resolved my “classics” issue!

Quick take on Nora Roberts. I see why she is popular. Her description and characters are beautiful.  However, she does something (at least she did in MIDNIGHT BAYOU) that I dislike as a reader: She changed character POVs in text without warning.  For pages I’m Dec (rich, handsome guy) and then suddenly for two paragraphs I’m Odette (Cajun, old lady) and then back again.  I don’t mind POV shifts, but give me a chapter change or break in text.

Have you read any of the books we’re reading? Thoughts on them?
Is there a way of writing that can turn you off from reading it?
What are you currently reading? Should we pick it up?

Categories: Reading | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

