98% + 1% + 1%

I think he had something to do with the first one…
😉

Universal Formula:
1% Inspiration + 99% Perspiration = Genius

My Formula:
1% Inspiration + 98% Perspiration + 1% Luck = Successful Writer

Writers talk a lot about the 98% and often about their inspirations.  But it is only in passing, in the quickest of breaths, that they talk about the luck.

In writing, part of publication is luck.  A small part, granted.  Maybe I was too generous giving it that 1%.  Maybe 0.5% is better, but since I already wrote the formula…

Writers just say that part exists, but nothing more. So, I’m here to remind you that you need to stack it.  And here’s how:

#1- Lucky Charms
Not the cereal (though eating it might not be a bad idea… It is nummy, after all).  I’m talking four leaf clovers, horse shoes (with the ends up so the luck doesn’t spill out), lucky stones, and whatever else.  Get at least 1.  Rub/touch/kiss it (not in a kinky way) as you send off your hopes and dreams.  Also repeat the (not kinky) motion whenever you think about it or once a day.

#2- You Wish
Starlight, star bright, first star you see tonight… DO IT!!!  Be it throwing a penny into a fountain/wishing well, your kid’s birthday candles, or because the clock reads 11:11 you should wish.  Wishes and dreams come true.  So, do it.

#3- They Wish
Tell others what you’re up to, because you know what happens.  “Good luck!”  “I’ll be sending positive thoughts your way.”  And other things like that.  Let the good juju flow!

#4- Personal Rituals
My ex-stepdad had this thing that when he went on a business trip (or to a Flyers game) he had to wear red underwear.  Why?  It was a personal luck ritual thing.  He was convinced failure would befall him (or the Flyers) if he didn’t.  They were never for anything else (no casual wearing).  So… If you have a personal luck thing, do it too.

Ready to start gathering your good luck?  Well, wait.  I want to share a lucky charm/ritual from Japan with you.  There’s this thing call a Daruma Doll (you can get the whole history on it it here).  Basically, it is a good luck charm on its own, but when you have a wish you color in 1 of its eyes.  When the wish comes true you color in the other one.  And don’t think you have to go all the way to Japan to get one.  Amazon has them.

Tell me your personal lucky rituals.
Did I miss any of your favorite good luck getters?

Categories: Experience | Tags: , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “98% + 1% + 1%

  1. Hiya.

    Just wanted to say hello and let you know I nominated you for a Liebster Award. The details are here: http://bit.ly/17cy552

    Have a great day!

    Cheers,

    Tonette

    • Thank you, Tonette. If I have time I’ll do it, but my schedule is getting rather busy at the moment. (Nearing last day of school for my minis.) I do appreciate the nomination and am honored you thought of me. 🙂

  2. I truly believe in the power of sharing your dreams. All those prayers, positive thoughts, belief, faith—all of that working in you and for you. I think another great way to create your own “luck” is to give to others what you would want for yourself. Help as many people as you can on their own roads to success. It seems like when you’re around success you attract success. Great positive post. ありがとうよ!

    • Surround yourself with success and pay it forward. Totally great strategies. 🙂

      Thanks and glad you liked it.

Leave a Reply

