ROW80 8/22 Check-In

ROW80

Want to join the challenge? Click the logo!

Hey, Rowers! It is 7am my time as I start to write this and something has dawned on me.  Next week, waking up at 7am will be a must!  My kids will be (finally) returning to school.  And instead of the Hallelujah Chorus, you know what I get with this realization?  Three dogs barking.  Too early for this ish, ne?

Oh, good.  I got them to stop.  Though, it was helping with my main objective: WAKE UP!!!  I need to drive to the donation drop off to get rid of a few things.  Me behind the wheel in my current state would result in Live Action Mario Kart.  It’s trash day, so the trash cans can replace the shells and maybe even produce banana peels.

About the past week… Lots of cleaning.  My parents will be here in less than two weeks.  That is, of course, if everything is going to plan.  Plans don’t always work out for my side of the family, so there is speculation (especially as there has been no contact for a couple of weeks).  On Hulu, I finally finished watching Bachelor’s Vegetable Store.  And it was worth finishing, except… The villain deserved far worse.  Speaking of things I watched… Have you seen the clip from season three of Downton Abbey?

1a. Peck at W.I.P. whenever I can.
DONE

1b. Work on an experiment.
It took some work, but I did find time last week.  I also discovered something I couldn’t understand before.  My husband could never write with the kids around.  Even a blog post was hard for him to do.  When I was a smoker, I just couldn’t understand.  It wasn’t an issue for me.  But with my writing still wobbly from quitting, I can understand how they kill it.  Even getting in a small groove is shattered by them.  And for the record, 6 months smoke free!  Honestly, this whole experience makes me long for when I can go back to properly writing.

2. Visit and comment on 1D10 ROWer blogs each check-in.
Last week, on my busy Wednesday, I rolled a 2 so I was able to fit it in that day.  Sunday, I rolled high and got a 7. I’ve got quite a few things to do today.  So, I’m not eager to roll yet.  I should be able to squeeze it in today.  Just not sure when.

3. Adopt new blogging schedule.
Last Friday, I blogged some of my inspirations for my story in The Ghost IS the Machine.  Monday, in a blog post I had been planning for weeks, I reveal I too have fallen in love with Gangnam Style.  For the record, I think I’ll do two more K-Pop Writing Musics and then switch up to something else just as “different.”

4. Make announcement.
DONE!

Now, please excuse me.  A car awaits my driving.  And I must avoid watching this video!  This is on my “To Play” list.  You woo pigeons!  PIGEONS!!!!  (I’m a strange little monkey.)

Categories: ROW80 | Tags: , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “ROW80 8/22 Check-In

  1. Wow! What a post! I’m going to have to save that last video for later, as I don’t have an hour and a half at the moment, but the picture intrigues me.

    More importantly, congratulations on six months free of smoking! I know how hard that can be, so I give you huge credit for that. And yes, kids can be a wee bit of a distraction (mine are 6 and 4). I try to get out of the house, even if that means into the front yard in a folding chair, now and then for writing or reading. It’s amazing what even twenty feet and a door can get you!

    Congrats on the progress, and good luck keeping it up this week!

    • I watched the last video over the course of the day. Having more of a clue than them regarding such things, I already see how to get a certain ending.

      And many thanks! Being a non-smoker is something I don’t want to let go of. It is a struggle trying to regain my writing (I’m at 65%) since so much centered around smoking. And that’s where the kids aren’t helping. Reading is actually easily accomplished. Both my kids (6 & 10) love reading. I set their bookmarks further down the book and I can get them to be quiet for 30-45 minutes. As for writing away from them, I’m bound to a desk top. And I am a victim of modern times and detest manual writing. (Can’t we just type all the things?) I just have to wait for school. 🙂

  2. Sounds like you’re doing well on the goals. Congratulations on being smoke free!

Leave a Reply

