Review: Coffee Prince

On one hand, I can count the number of Korean dramas (or K-dramas) I’ve watched:
1- WITCH AMUSEMENT
2- THE WOMAN WHO STILL WANTS TO MARRY
3- QUEEN OF HOUSEWIVES*
4- HELLO MY TEACHER**
and most recently
5- COFFEE PRINCE

COFFEE PRINCE is something most fans of the “genre” (sorry can’t think of a better word) have watched.  You could almost call it a “staple”  in a k-drama “diet.”  And I regret taking so long to watch it!

First off, it has my favorite trope of all time:
Girl pretending to be boy!

That’s not something easily done in American culture, so I think that’s why I find it appealing.  Also the infiltration into this “other world” and cunning to pull it off also appeals to me.  I’m a big fan of HANA KIMI (as I mention in this video) and the anime of OURAN HIGH SCHOOL HOST CLUB, which also have this trope. (OURAN disappointed me.  I was all for Mori-Sempai, so when Tamaki became the easy winner in the manga… BLAH!)

Next, it is a romantic comedy.  Honestly, if I had to pick between a romance, a comedy, or a rom-com… Romance comedy, please!  I think some cultural things make some scenes make less sense, but sometimes I’m sure that it makes it funnier.  Also, Koreans are a bit more “prudish” than us.  A hug would be the equivalent of a french kiss.  But there’s definitely drama in the cinematography and music that conveys the importance, so you kinda get it (though it might make you laugh).

At the I start I was seriously hating some characters that by the end I liked and celebrated their awesomeness.  I saw characters grow, but not lose who they are/were.  I mean, often times, girls give up being independent/driven because of love.  “I love you, so I’ll forget that job in New York.”  Well, something like that happens, like twice, but there’s a twist to it each time.  Of course, with the great characters there’s a great story.

There’s a lot to like.  So, what isn’t there to like?  The run time.  The fact each episode can run 52-68 minutes, feels awkward.  It doesn’t fit the usual time blocks I’m used to as an American viewer.  So, when I feel it should be over, it still has more to go.  That made me a bit antsy.

Yeah.  That’s my only complaint.

Look, if you’re into soap operas (especially ones that don’t run on for forever), don’t mind reading subtitles, and like what you read up there… Check it out!

*- I didn’t actually finish watching this one.
I didn’t like it much.
**- Sometimes called BISCUIT TEACHER
AND STAR CANDY or HARDTACK
TEACHER AND STAR CANDY.

Categories: Random | Tags: , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Review: Coffee Prince

  1. Oooh, I’ll have to check out Coffee Prince. Maybe a reward for whenever I finish my revision fest. :)

    • It is very much reward worthy. You’ve been working very hard on those revisions. Hope they’re going well.

      • Thanks. Hopefully all the effort will pay off on the agent end. Even if not, at least I’ve got that much stronger of a manuscript. Right? Is it Coffee Prince time? ;)

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 418 other followers

